T20 World Cup Winners List Year Wise

The Men’s T20 World Cup is a tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in which cricket teams from all around the world compete. Basically, there are 16 teams in which ten teams are selected from the top 10 rankings of the teams while the rest six are from the qualifiers of the previous World Cup. Generally, the T20 World Cup Winners List is held every two years but due to Covid-19 issues, the World Cup of 2020 couldn’t take place. Also in the year 2018, the World Cup was not played as ICC Championship Trophy took place in 2017. So, the idea of the World Cup for the next year dropped.

The next T20 World Cup is scheduled to be played in 2021 in UAE and Oman. The matches will be played in October and November. Earlier India was confirmed to be the host of the tournament by ICC but due to Covid-19 concerns in India, the host was later changed to UAE. So far, 6 tournaments have been played since 2007. So let’s take a look at the winners of the ICC T20 World Cup for the last six tournaments.

YearPlayer of the SeriesMost RunsMost Wickets
2007Shahid AfridiMatthew Hayden (265)Umar Gul (13)
2009Tillakaratne DilshanTillakaratne Dilshan (317)Umar Gul (13)
2010Kevin PietersenMahela Jayawardene (302)Dirk Nannes (14)
2012Shane WatsonShane Watson (249)Ajantha Mendis (15)
2014Virat KohliVirat Kohli (319)Imran Tahir (12)
2016Virat KohliTamim Iqbal (295)Mohammad Nabi (12)

T20 World Cup Winners

2007 (India) – The 2007 World Cup was the inaugural tournament that was hosted by South Africa. There were 12 teams who took the part in the tournament. The matches were played at three stadiums in South Africa, Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town, Kingsmead in Durban, and Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg. New Zealand, Pakistan, India, and Australia were the top four teams in the Semi-finals. India played against Pakistan in the finals and won the inaugural World Cup trophy. The Indian team was having young players in the team with MS Dhoni as the Captain and Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly along the rest. Indian team won the finals by 5 runs.

2009 (Pakistan) – The second season of the ICC World Cup took place in England. As per the reports, the Marylebone Cricket Club and Surrey Ccc hosted the tournament together. The matches were played in June 2009 at three stadiums, The Oval, Lord’s, and Trent Bridge. There were 12 teams in the tournament. The final match was played at Lord’s where Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by eight wickets. Along with the Men’s T20, the Women’s T20 World Cup was also played in which England won the finals against New Zealand.

2010 (England) – Although the tournament was supposed to held every two years, there was an ICC One Day International tournament was held in 2010 in West Indies. Later on, it was revised to the T20 format. England, Sri Lanka, Australia, and Pakistan were the top four teams to play in the semi-finals. In the finals, England defeated Australia by six wickets. In the Women’s T20 World Cup tournament which was going parallel with the men’s league, Australia won the finals against New Zealand.

2012 (West Indies) – 2012 was the fourth competition of the T20 World Cup series. The tournament was hosted by Sri Lanka and matches were played from September to October 2012. There was no change in the format of the game. Prior to the tournament, there were 12 warm-up matches also played. The top four teams for the semi-finals were Sri Lanka, Pakistan, West Indies, and Australia. West Indies defeated Sri Lanka in the finals. West Indies scored 137 runs off 6 wickets in the finals. Sri Lanka got all out on 101 runs.

2014 (Sri Lanka) – The 2014 World Cup was played in Bangladesh in Dhaka, Chittagong, and Sylhet. In this season, there were a total of 16 teams instead of 12. The top 4 teams for the semi-finals were Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa, and India. The final match was played on 6 April between India and Sri Lanka. India chose to bat first and scored 130 runs in 20 overs with a loss of 4 wickets. The Sri Lanka team chased the target in 17.4 overs off 4 wickets and made the title to their name.

2016 (West Indies) – it was the sixth edition of the ICC T20 World Cup. The tournament was held in India for the first time. Seven cities in the country hosted the matches. The prize money for the winning team was US $1.6 million. The finals were played between England and West Indies. England scored 155 runs with a loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs. West Indies chased the target in 19.4 overs and won the match by 4 wickets. It was the second title for West Indies. West Indies is the only country to have won the T20 World Cup Winners List.

Also Read: Top 10 Most Dangerous Batsmen In Ipl

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Rahul Dravid Net worth, Salary, Endorsements & Interesting Facts

Rahul Dravid's net worth is believed to be $ 23 million, which is approximately Rs. 172 Crores in Indian currency. Having played...

Krunal Pandya Net Worth, Salary, Interesting Facts & Endorsements

Krunal Pandya's net worth is estimated to be $7 million USD or Rs. 53 crore rupees in Indian currency. This vast...

Prithvi Shaw Net Worth, Salary, Endorsements & Interesting Facts

He has a fortune of almost $3 million, which translates to about 23 crores of rupees in India makes Prithvi Shaw's net...

MS Dhoni Net worth, Salary & Endorsements

MS Dhoni Net Worth is $113 Million or Rs. 846 crores. Mahendra Singh Dhoni or MS Dhoni is an Indian international cricketer.

What Is The Pavilion End In Cricket?

When the bowler is delivering in such a manner that the pavilion is at the bowler's backside it is called as pavilion...