IPL 2021 – 20th Match Highlights DC won the Super Over Contest and moved up to the second spot in the points table

It was a super over win for the Delhi Capitals, which helped to climb the second spot of the points table in the 20th match of the Indian Premier League 2021 season. Chennai Super Kings are on the first rank in that table. CSK pushed RCB to number three as Jadeja’s all-round show made the contest completely one-sided.   

Delhi Capitals played and won the first super over of the IPL 2021 season against Sunrisers Hyderabad. DC won the toss and opted to bat in this match. The DC openers had put a good 81 runs opening partnership which kept the SRH bowlers at bay.

Prithvi Shaw showed his aggression from the first ball against Khaleel Ahmed as the DC opener hit three fours on the trot to start the innings on a high.

Shaw took on the SRH bowlers on a slow and tacky wicket of Cheapuk. He took on the lead spinner of SRH Rashid Khan and brought his half-century in just 35 deliveries. Dhawan too played quite a few beautiful shots as a second fiddler and tried to keep the pressure from the other end as well.

But it was Rashid Khan again who gave SRH a big breakthrough. Rashid clean bowled Shikhar Dhawan for 28 runs, and SRH had another wicket off the Deli Capitals opener.

Skipper Pant, who came into bat at number three position, had a collision with the well-set opener Prithvi Shaw to run him out. Shaw played well, but his entertaining knock ended with an unfortunate run out. He scored 53 runs.

After a good start, the middle phase of the innings was taken care of by Rishabh Pant and Steve Smith. The Indian and Australian duo shared 58 runs, which helped the Capitals get to a competitive score on the board.

Steve Smith was unbeaten on 34 runs while the skipper perished for 37 runs. In the allotted quota of 20 overs, DC scored 159 runs. 

Rashid Khan was the only bowler who looked to make an impact on this wicket. But the other pacers struggled in the absence of experienced Bhuvi. The spin duo of Abhishek Sharma took two wickets, and Rashid Khan picked up one wicket each.

SRH needed to start the innings well in their pursuit of 160 runs target. Warner’s run out for six runs was a huge blow and SRH recovered from that quite well.

Bairstow and Williamson steadied the run chase for the orange army. The SRH and England WK batsman even hit three boundaries and four sixes in his knock of 38 runs.

But as soon as SRH reached the fifty run mark. Jonny was out, and the SRH innings was again trouble as the inexperienced middle-order batsmen of the orange army couldn’t provide support to their star batsman Kane Williamson. Kedar Jadhav, who was brought to solve the middle-order woes, was also out for nine runs.

DC won the Super Over Contest
DC won the Super Over Contest

The Kiwi Skipper and the middle order pillar of SRH, Kane Williamson, guided the innings with his unbeaten 66 runs. The clam and composed man from New Zealand took the Sunrisers Hyderabad team closer to the target set by DC.

But he couldn’t finish the job because of the lack of support. SRH, too finished exactly on 159 runs after they completed the 20 overs.

DC bowlers kept the SRH batsmen in check, and they picked up regular wickets. Accept for Williamson and Bairstow. The other SRH batters couldn’t make a significant impact in this run chase. Avesh Khan picked up three wickets, Axar Patel took two wickets, and Amit Mishra bagged one wicket to his name.

The match went to the super over. The Sunrisers Hyderabad batted first and scored just seven runs in their final six deliveries.

In reply, DC scored eight runs due to Skipper Risbah Pant and Shikhar opener Dhawan, who were unbeaten in the super over run chase. DC won the super over and climbed to the second spot on the points table.

For his extraordinary and entertaining knock at the top order, Prithvi Shaw was named the man of the match for his fluent 53 runs, which helped the Delhi Capitals team to score a good and competitive score on the board.            

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Now Or Never For Pakistan Captain Bazar Azam

Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif is of the opinion that the clock is ticking on Bazar Azam’s tenure as current captain of...

India To Face Pakistan and New Zealand In Their Group Stages Of Icc T20 Cricket World Cup

From October 17 to November 14, 2021, India and Pakistan will host the T20 Men's World Cup in the United Arab  Emirates...

Four players With the Most Man Of The Match Awards In ICC Events

Getting a man of the match award in the ICC event is the matter of pride for any player of this world....

5 Sri Lankan Players Who Refused To Play The Limited Over Series Against India

The limited-overs series between India Vs Sri Lanka starts from July 13th 2021. The two Asian giants will play three matches in...

Kohli’s Virat Earning From Instagram Posts.

The Indian captain Virat Kohli one of the best batsmen in modern cricket.He is very active on social media. Kohli fans are...