How Many Teams Qualify For IPL Playoffs

Even though there are 10 teams competing in the IPL 2022 season, only 4 of them will advance to the playoff rounds, where they will face off against each other to determine which two teams advance to the tournament’s championship game.

The playoff rounds will only be open to the top four teams in the IPL 2022 Points Table. The four teams at the top of the points standings will advance to the playoffs after each club has played 14 games.

The top 4 teams in the IPL 2022 points standings, out of the 10 teams competing in the competition, will advance to the IPL 2022 playoff rounds, where the best teams will face off to determine who will play in the IPL 2022 finals.

Qualified Teams

1 Gujarat Titans

2 Lucknow Super Giants

3 Rajasthan Royals

4 Royal Challengers Bangalore

How Many Teams Qualify For IPL Playoffs

Chennai Super Kings

Out of the 12 seasons, they have played, the Chennai Super Kings have already qualified for 11 playoffs. IPL championships were won by CSK in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. Chennai Super Kings, four-time IPL champions, suffer a lot following an unexpected captaincy change.

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals have never won the IPL championship despite having been to the playoff stages six times. DC finished the IPL 2020 season as runner-up after falling to Mumbai Indians in the championship game. On March 27, the Delhi Capitals under the leadership of Rishabh Pant defeated the Mumbai Indians to begin their IPL 2022 season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

When team player statistics are considered, RCB is one of the top teams, although they have yet to win their first IPL championship. Out of the 14 games RCB played, they were able to advance to the playoffs seven times. With their match against Punjab Kings on March 27, Royal Challengers Bangalore began their IPL 2022 campaign under their new skipper Faf du Plessis.

Kolkata Knight Riders

For the IPL 2022 season, two-time champions will compete with a new captain. After losing in the IPL 2021 final, KKR fired Eoin Morgan as captain and replaced him with Shreyas Iyer, whom they picked up in the IPL 2022 mega-auction.

Mumbai Indians

winner of five IPL championships The Mumbai Indians is regarded as one of the IPL’s most successful teams. IPL championships were won by Mumbai Indians in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

The Mumbai Indians took on the Delhi Capitals in their opening league game of the IPL 2022 on March 27. Notably, Mumbai defeats Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2022 championship game, shattering Delhi’s hopes of winning the league’s first championship by a margin of 5 wickets.

The Mumbai Indians are the first team eliminated from the IPL playoffs in 2022.

Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings haven’t made it past the first round of the playoffs since 2015. Recently, Punjab Kings/Kings XI Punjab has had a lot of difficulties. Mayank Agarwal has been selected as the captain of PBKS for the IPL 2022 season.

Do You Know: Top 10 Slowest Fifty In IPL History

Leave a Comment