Who Took The First Hat Trick In The IPL?

T-20 Cricket is a game of pace. Situations change at an extremely fast rate. Whether it is the chasing team or the defending team, situations can change drastically. And the same kind of thing happened during the match between Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab on May 10, 2008, when KXIP was chasing the target of 182 runs.

Then, Lakshmipathy Balaji hit a hat-trick in the final over, changing the course of the match and confirming the Chennai Super Kings’ victory.

This hat-trick was the first hat-trick in the history of the IPL. Lakshmipathy Balaji has registered his name as the first man to take a hat-trick in the IPL.

The Chennai Super Kings were already ahead in the match. The only threat was Irfan Pathan, who was on the ground smashing boundaries all over the ground. The match came down to the last over. KXIP required 27 runs.

The Hat-Trick over

The last over was given to Lakshmipathy Balaji.

On the first ball, Irfaan Pathan hit a six.

On the second ball, Lakshmipathy Balaji threw a slow full toss ball and Pathan pulled it towards midwicket where Raina dived to save a boundary.

On the third ball, Lakshmipathy Balaji again throws a slower ball Pathan hit the ball, but it didn’t have enough strength to cross the boundary, and Raina didn’t make any mistakes and caught Pathan in his safe hands.

With the Pathan wicket, Panjab’s hopes were near zero.

On the fourth ball, Piyush Chawla was on strike Lakshmipathy Balaji bowled another slower ball and Chawla gave an easy catch to Kapugedera.

Balaji was on 4 wickets and commentators were asking if he could take the 5th wicket on the next ball and create history by taking the first hat-trick in IPL history.

Balaji bowled the fifth ball and Vikram Singh was on strike. It was a short ball outside the stumps. Vikram Singh swings his bat, and the ball takes the top edge and goes straight to Dhoni’s safe hands, and Balaji gets the hat trick.

Other players who have taken hat-tricks throughout the history of the IPL

Player (Team)VersusVictimsYear
L Balaji (Chennai Super Kings)Punjab KingsIrfan Pathan
Piyush Chawla
VRV Singh
Amit Mishra (Delhi Capitals)Deccan ChargersD B Ravi Teja
R P Singh
Pragyan Ojha
Makhaya Ntini (Chennai Super Kings)Kolkata Knight RidersSourav Ganguly
Debabrata Das
David Hussey
Yuvraj Singh (Punjab Kings)Royal Challengers BangaloreRobin Uthappa
Mark Boucher
Jacques Kallis
Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers)Mumbai IndiansAbhishek Nayar
Harbhajan Singh
J-P Duminy
Yuvraj Singh (Punjab Kings)Deccan ChargersHerschelle Gibbs
Andrew Symonds
Venugopal Rao
Praveen Kumar (Royal Challengers Bangalore)Rajasthan RoyalsDamien Martyn
Sumit Narwal
Paras Dogra
Amit Mishra (Deccan Chargers)Punjab KingsRyan McLaren
Mandeep Singh

Do You Know: What Is Written On The Ipl Trophy?

Leave a Comment