India Name Shikhar Dhawan As The Captain Of India’s ODI And T20I Team, Which Will Tour Sri Lanka In July 2021

The Indian Board, BCCI has announced a 20 member squad for the limited-overs to Sri Lanka in July 2021. The board has named India’s premier limited-overs opener as their captain for the three match ODI and T20I series, which will start from 13th July 2021.

India’s Gabbar will lead this team –

Yesterday, BCCI appointed Shikhar Dhawan as the captain of this team. In the absence of Rohit and Virat, Dhawan was the obvious choice to lead the team as we all know that Virat and Rohit are in England to play the WTC Final against New Zealand and five series in Tests against England.

The selectors have picked a squad of youngsters for the Lankan series. Some of the youngsters had an impressive first half of the Indian Premier League 2021 season, which was postponed midway after the first 29 games.

The squad includes six uncapped players. Nitish Rana, Devdutt Paddikal, Chetan Sakariya, Krishnappa Gowtham, Varun Chakravarthy, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Nitish Rana have been selected, with Prithvi Shaw and Manish Pandey are also back in the ODI and T20I squad. But Shreyas Iyer misses out, maybe because he has not recovered fully.

The KULCHA duo is part of this squad. Now it remains to be seen that if both Kuldeep and Chahal play together. Pandya brothers, Hardik, and Krunal, with the two keepers, Samson and Kishan, are also part of this Lankan Tour. Bhuvnesh Kumar has been named as a vice-captain for this series.

India will also travel with four net bowlers for this limited-overs series tour. Sai Kishore, Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshadeep Singh, and Simranjeet Singh will be the four net bowlers for India. 

The team will be coached by Ravid Dravid as Ravi Shastri and co will be in England during this tour.

Here is the 20 man squad of the Indian team to Sri Lanka

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakarbarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chachar, Navdeep Saini and Chetan Sakariya.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Rajasthan Royals To Stake 250 million US Dollars Stake In A United States Company

Redbird Capital Partners has acquired a 15 per cent stake in the Indian Premier League franchise Rajasthan Royals.Redbird Capital Partners has also...

Jaddu – The Number one Bowling All Rounder In The ICC Test Rankings

India’s star all-rounder player Ravindra Jadeja has ranked first in the rankings of the International Cricket Council as the best spin bowling...

Top Three Reasons Why India Lost The WTC Final Against New Zealand.

New Zealand made history by beating India by eight wickets in the ICC World Test Championship final in Southampton yesterday.In this last...

Eoin Morgan explain the controversy of calling “Sir”

Eoin Morgan broke his silence on the racial comments of the Indians, and he said there was nothing wrong in saying, sir.A...

Ross Taylor Was Abused By The Spectators On The Fifth Day Of The WTC Final

On the fifth day of the World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand, two spectators insulted the New Zealand players...