On This Day In 1993: After The Initial Event In 1973, England Won The Women’s World Cup For The First Time

On August 1, 1993, at Lord’s in London, England and New Zealand competed in the 1993 Women’s Cricket World Cup Final. 

It was the fifth Women’s Cricket World Cup, hosted by England for the second time, and it took place more than four years after the World Cup that came before it in Australia in 1988.

The 1993 Women’s Cricket World Cup, the fifth edition of the competition, came to an end that day. 

With a 67-run victory in the championship match, England won its second World Cup and first since the 1973 inaugural competition. 

New Zealand made their World Cup debut at this level, while it was England’s third appearance in a championship game.

Through the round-robin league stage of the competition, New Zealand remained unbeaten, while England only suffered one loss, against New Zealand. 

They took first and second place in the league standings to advance directly to the championship. 

In the final, New Zealand was thought to be a slight favorite. Sarah Illingworth, the captain of New Zealand, won the toss and decided to field first. 

England scored slowly for the majority of their innings; Jan Brittin and Carole Hodges shared an 85-run partnership until runs started to pile on more swiftly toward the end, spearheaded by Jo Chamberlain’s 38 runs off 33 balls. 

England’s final score was 195 for 5. New Zealand frequently lost wickets as a result of their response.

An important turning point for England was the removal of Debbie Hockley right before the lunch break, which allowed them to bowl New Zealand out for 128 and win. 

Matches were played over 60 overs and were organized by the International Women’s Cricket Council (IWCC). 

It was “run on a shoestring” and on the verge of being canceled when the Foundation for Sport and the Arts donated £90,000. 

With Denmark, India, and the West Indies joining the five nations from the 1988 competition, a record eight teams competed. The West Indies and Denmark were competing in their first tournaments. 

Jan Brittin of England and Karen Smithies, her captain, and Julie Harris of New Zealand took the top two spots in the competition for wickets and runs, respectively. 

Also read about the net worth of Harbhajan Singh

75 thoughts on “On This Day In 1993: After The Initial Event In 1973, England Won The Women’s World Cup For The First Time”

  1. I may need your help. I tried many ways but couldn’t solve it, but after reading your article, I think you have a way to help me. I’m looking forward for your reply. Thanks.

  2. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉

  3. You made some really good points there. I looked on the net for more info about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this web site.

  4. I do accept as true with all of the ideas you have offered for your post.
    They’re very convincing and can definitely work.
    Still, the posts are very brief for novices. Could you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time?

    Thank you for the post.

Leave a Comment