New Zealand’s Squad For The World Test Championship Final Against India

New Zealand has announced their squad against India for the final match of the World Test Championship event, which will be played from 18th June 2021 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton. The Kiwis will be back with their regular skipper, Kane Williamson, who missed the last Test match against England.

New Zealand’s wicketkeeper-batsman BJ Watling also missed the second test match, which The Kiwis won by eight wickets, and they clinched the two-match test series by the margin of 1-0. Now Watling is also back for this all-important final. This Test match will be the last for Watling as he is going bid adieu to the International Cricket arena.

New Zealand’s head coach Gary Stead had announced this decision when the Blackcaps team announced their 15 member squad. Stead said that Kane and BJ would be benefited from a week’s rest, and they hope that they will be fit for this event. Playing the WTC Final is special, and the members are looking forward to work in Southampton.

The Indian team is a world-class outfit, and they have match-winners in their squad. So without a doubt, this contest will be the toughest one for sure, and it would be hard for boys to beat them.

New Zealand will have a special spinner named Ajaz Patel and the all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme. Will Young and Tom Blundell are included as the cover for wicket keeping. Stead said that Ajaz, the Indian origin spinner, will the X factor for the Kiwis.

He did well against England at Edgbaston, and Grandhomme has a key member in the Test lineup of the Blackcaps. he returned well at Lords after a long break due to injury.

New Zealand has left out five players from their 20 man squad, which faced England. Stead, it is not easy to say goodbye to those players who have given so much to the group. The five players had a selfless attitude, and they were helping the members who were part of the playing eleven. Despite that, there were tough calls to be made to select this team.

New Zealand’s 15-man squad for the World Test championship final against India    

Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Tom Blundell, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Henry Nicholas, Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Neil Wagner, Will, and BJ Watling.   

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Did the Proteas Turn a Corner at the T20 World Cup?

An opening day loss to Australia prompted many back home in the Rainbow Nation to fear the worst for the Proteas at...

List Of 10 Most Expensive Over In Ipl

In the T20 format of cricket, we have observed that the Indian Premier League is the platform where the best of best...

Fastest Centuries In T20 International

In cricket, the T20 format is considered to be the most exciting as there are very few overs and players have...


Do you find it difficult to find whether the name you have selected is already taken or not?  Well,...

Ipl 2022 Mega Auction: 10 Uncapped Indian Players Who Might Cause A Bidding War

After a great season of the Indian Premier League with CSK winning the finals, the speculations have already started about the next...