List Of Most Dot Balls In IPL 2023 – Mohammad Shami With [192 Dot Balls]

Indian Premier League had its final match on 29 May 2023, but the discussions and speculations are still ongoing. The record for most dot balls in IPL till 2022  has been secured by Mohammad Shami, the leading fast bowler of Gujarat Titans, and the most number of dot balls is faced by the CSK opener, Devon Conway.

In the T20 format, it’s the batters who are generally celebrated. They overshadow all the other players on the field most of the time. But sometimes, the bowlers take away the show by delivering some excellent overs. When a bowler throws a dot ball, the fielding team and their fans see it as a blessing. IPL this season has seen some great bowlers who have delivered some amazing dot balls, giving defending totals.

In a dot ball, the batter is not able to score any run by the bowler’s delivery. Cricket, in any format, needs teams to maintain a score that intimidates the other team. T20, the shortest format of cricket where a lot of runs are made, keeping the strike on becomes crucial.

Top 15 Most Dot Balls In IPL 2022 Player List

In the year 2023, Royal Challenger Bengaluru’s popular player Mohammad Siraj and Gujarat Titan’s Mohammad Shami emerged with the record of the most dot balls. However, Siraj could not break David Conway’s record. While most of the players on the list are pacers, there are a couple of spinners who have delivered some great dot balls. Varun Chakaravarthy, Rashid Khan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, and Ravi Bishnoi are some of them who made it to the top 15 bowlers to deliver dot balls list in IPL season 16. Here’s a list of the 15 bowlers with the highest number of dot balls:

Bowler and TeamMatchesOversDot BallsWickets
Mohammed Shami (GT) 1765319228
Mohammed Siraj (RCB)145016219
Tushar Deshpande (CSK)1656.513721
Rashid Khan (GT)176713427
Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)145112816
Varun Chakaravarthy (KKR)1452.412420
Piyush Chawla (MI) 166112122
Arshdeep Singh (PBKS) 1450.511417
Trent Boult (RR) 103810713
Axar Patel (DC) 144710511
Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) 165710720
Matheesha Pathirana (CSK) 1248.210419
Noor Ahmad (GT) 1347.110316
Yuzvendra Chahal (RR) 1452.59721
Ravi Bishnoi (LSG) 1550.39716

Top 15 Most Dot Balls Faced By Players In IPL 2022 Player List

Other than David Conway, there are a number of top batters who have scored high runs but became a part of the top 15 players to face dot balls. This is not very surprising as to get a high run, and the batters stay on the pitch for a considerable amount of time. There are a lot of low scorers on this list, as you may have guessed. Here’s a list of the 15 batters who have encountered the highest number of dot balls in IPL season 16. The list has some heavyweights like Faf Du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, David Warner, and Virat Kohli who has scored the most runs in the opening overs.

Batter and TeamInningsNo. of Dot Balls FacedTotal Balls Faced
Devon Conway (CSK)15164481
David Warner (DC) 14157392
Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR) 14152382
Shubman Gill (GT) 17150564
Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK) 15134400
Faf Du Plessis (RCB)14133475
Ishan Kishan (MI) 15130318
Virat Kohli (RCB) 14130457
Kyle Mayers (LSG) 13128263
Wriddhiman Saha (GT) 17117287
Rohit Sharma (MI) 16113250
Nitish Rana (KKR) 14111293
Jos Buttler (RR)14108282
Shikhar Dhawan (PBKS) 11108261
Prabhsimran Singh (PBKS) 14104238

You May Also Like: