IPL 2022: Who Is Leading In Purple & Orange Cap? Is Your Favorite Player On The List?

After four matches in three days, Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders and Gujarat Titans have started their journey in the points table of IPL 2022 and after their big win against five-time IPL winners, Delhi Capitals are in the fray. Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals are the only two teams still in the IPL 2022. Today those who will face each other in Pune on Tuesday. There have been a number of surprises in the Orange Cap list based on the matches played so far. The list includes some big names as well as some unexpected names. The list is given below.

Faf du Plessis (RCB) – 6 runs

Ishan Kisan (Mumbai) – 61 runs

Deepak Hooda (LSG) – 55 runs

Ayush Badoni (LSG) – 54 runs

MS Dhoni (CSK) – 50 runs

On the other hand, the fight for the Purple Cap has also intensified.

On Monday, Gujarat Titans bowler Mohammad Shami joined the top-5 list with his sensational spell and only one change has been seen in that list after joining the Purple Cap table.

For the first time in his IPL career, Shami bowled 13 dot balls in three overs in Powerplay and took three wickets for just 10 runs. In the end, he finished with 3 wickets for 25 runs.

Despite taking equal wickets from CSK’s Dwayne Bravo and Delhi Capitals’ Kuldeep Yadav, Shami is in third place due to his economy rate.

Kuldeep Yadav (DC) – 3 wickets

Dwayne Bravo (CSK) – 3 wickets

Mohammad Shami (Gujarat) – 3 wickets

Basil Thampi (Mumbai) – 3 wickets

Murugan Ashwin (Mumbai) – 2 wickets

The tournament has just started, and a lot of matches remain until we will know which player will take away the purple cap and orange cap in IPL 2022. 

Who Has Who Purple Cap In IPL Since 2008?

Over the years, IPL has witnessed some intense battles between bowlers for picking up most wickets in a season and being awarded a Purple Cap. Here’s the complete list of Purple Cap winners in IPL.

2008 – Sohail Tanvir (RR) 

2009 – RP Singh (Deccan Chargers) 

2010 – Pragyan Ojha (Decca Chargers)

2011 – Lasith Malinga (MI)

2012 – Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils) 

2013 – Dwayne Bravo (CSK)

2014 – Dwayne Bravo (CSK)

2015 – Mohit Sharma (CSK)

2016 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)

2017 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)

2018 – Andrew Tye (Kings XI Punjab)

2019 – Imran Tahir (CSK)

2020 – Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals)

2021 – Harshal Patel (RCB)

Related Post:

Leave a Comment