5 Indian Captains Who Have Scored An IPL Century

It is difficult for any batsman to score a century in the T20 format, and achieving this feat is always a significant achievement for any batsman in the world. In the olden times, scoring a century in Tests and One Day Internationals was the most important thing.

In modern-day cricket, where matches are played in all three formats, scoring a ton in all of them is not easy, and they also considered it a significant achievement in today’s time. The Indian Premier League (IPL)is another format for the batsmen to score tons and runs.

But not all of them are successful in doing so. There are very few batsmen who have scored a ton in IPL as a player. If the batsmen are a captain and him scorers a ton, the feat is even more significant. If a captain plays, a knock like that is called a captain’s knocks in cricket.

This is a remarkable achievement because the captain has an additional responsibility to lead the side and to scores. If he scores a century in the T20s and IPL. Then is a spectacular achievement by a captain of the IPL franchise. Not many of them have scored a ton in IPL and T20s.

That is why today in this article, we will let our IPL fans know about five such Indian captains who have achieved this feat of scoring a century in the IPL –

Sachin Tendulkar – 100 unbeaten runs vs KTK in 2011 – Sachin Tendulkar is the first player in the IPL to score a century as an Indian captain. Sachin scored an unbeaten 100 runs in the IPL 2011 season against Kochi Tuskers Kerala in Mumbai. He scored a ton with the help of 12 fours and three sixes, and he achieved this feat in just 66 balls.

Sachin Tendulkar
Sachin Tendulkar

Virender Sehwag – 119 runs vs Deccan Chargers 2011 – The former Indian opener and the opening partner of Sachin are the second last on this list. Viru smashed 119 runs against Deccan Chargers in the same year which Sachin had achieved this feat. Sehwag took just 56 balls to score his hundred in this match. Viru smashed 13 fours and six sixes in this innings.

Virender Sehwag
Virender Sehwag

Virat Kohli – 5 IPL centuries – Virat Kohli, the current Indian captain and the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore, is the only player who has scored five centuries in the IPL as an Indian captain.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

Kohli, who captained the RCB team in IPL 2016, had scored four centuries, which is also the record of scoring tons the most in a single season, and in the IPL 2019 season, Kohli also smashed his fifth ton of the Indian Premier League.

KL Rahul – 132 unbeaten runs vs RCB (2020) – KL Rahul is another batsman who features this list. The current skipper of Punjab Kings played his best innings in the IPL 2020 season. The wicket-keeper batsman and captain of the Punjab Kings scored his first ton as a captain in the IPL 2020.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul

He achieved this feat against Virat’s Royal Challengers Bangalore. He scored an unbeaten 132 runs in Dubai with the help of 14 fours and seven sixes. He took just 69 balls to score unbeaten 132 runs.

Sanju Samson – 119 runs vs Punjab Kings in 2021 – Sanju Samson has become the first captain to score a century in his IPL debut as a captain. The wicket-keeper batsman plays for Rajasthan Royals and, in the third match of IPL 2021, played against the Punjab Kings.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson

Sanju scored 119 runs from just 63 balls. He smashed 12 fours and seven sixes in this innings. But unfortunately, his knock went in vain as RR lost the match by a margin of just four runs.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Rajasthan Royals To Stake 250 million US Dollars Stake In A United States Company

Redbird Capital Partners has acquired a 15 per cent stake in the Indian Premier League franchise Rajasthan Royals.Redbird Capital Partners has also...

Jaddu – The Number one Bowling All Rounder In The ICC Test Rankings

India’s star all-rounder player Ravindra Jadeja has ranked first in the rankings of the International Cricket Council as the best spin bowling...

Top Three Reasons Why India Lost The WTC Final Against New Zealand.

New Zealand made history by beating India by eight wickets in the ICC World Test Championship final in Southampton yesterday.In this last...

Eoin Morgan explain the controversy of calling “Sir”

Eoin Morgan broke his silence on the racial comments of the Indians, and he said there was nothing wrong in saying, sir.A...

Ross Taylor Was Abused By The Spectators On The Fifth Day Of The WTC Final

On the fifth day of the World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand, two spectators insulted the New Zealand players...