India Announced Their Squad for ODI Series Against SA

The Indian team for the 3-match ODI series has been announced by the BCCI. The team will be led by Shikhar Dhawan, with Shreyas Iyer as his junior. The team also has some newcomers too. The majority of India’s key players for the upcoming World Cup are resting for this series.

India’s ODI squad

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubham Gill, Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

Rajat Patidar (left) and Mukesh Kumar have received their maiden India call-up for the three-match ODI series against South Africa starting this week. Middle-order batter Rajat Patidar and medium pacer Mukesh Kumar have been selected for the three-match ODI series against South Africa starting this week.

Shikhar Dhawan will lead the team, while Shreyas Iyer will be his deputy. Interestingly, opener Prithvi Shaw, who has been in red-hot form with the bat, has again been given the cold shoulder by the selectors.

Madhya Pradesh batter Patidar has been rewarded for his stellar performances in domestic cricket, his breakthrough season in the IPL, where he turned out for Royal Challengers Bangalore, and more recently, his brilliant run for India A against New Zealand A in the four-day games. Patidar has smashed two centuries against the visitors.

Meanwhile, Mukesh Kumar, a prolific red-ball bowler for Bengal, had emerged as the top wicket-taker in first-class games against New Zealand ‘A’ and followed that up with another spectacular performance in the ongoing Irani Cup against 2019-20 Ranji champions Saurashtra.

Ishan Kishan has emerged from the shadows, and Sanju Samson has also made the cut. Shardul Thakur, too, has been rewarded for his brilliant all-round show against New Zealand A.

Pacer Avesh Khan, who was ruled out during the Asia Cup due to a fever-related illness, also found a spot in the 16-member squad.

India’s T20 World Cup standbys Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Ravi Bishnoi are also named in the squad.

The first match will be played on October 6 in Lucknow. The second ODI will be held in Ranchi on October 9. The third and final ODI will be played in Delhi on October 11.

Leave a Comment