ICC announces major changes in the World Cup schedule

The International Cricket Council has decided to expand the ICC Cricket 50 overs World Cups to 14 teams. We will see this change for the 2027 and 2031 editions of this ICC Mega event in the 50 over format.

The board has also changed the World T20 to a 20 team tournament. The ICC T20 event will take place every two years, and from 2024 to 2030, the World T20 will be a 20 team event.

The ICC Champions Trophy will be back in 2025 and 2029. They will play this event from the ICC between the top eight One Day International Teams. England won their maiden world cup in 2019. But that tournament was played with just ten teams. But earlier, this ICC event in the 50 over format was contested by 14 International teams, and ICC had brought the old rule back for the 2027 and 2031 WC editions.

The men’s event in the shortest format will have 55 matches, and 20 teams will take part in that ICC T20 mega tournament. We will not see this rule in the World T20 in 2021. But later from 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030.

The International Cricket Council will also continue to host Test cricket matches as the World Test Championship tournament. The final of the WTC event will be played regularly every after two years from 2025. 2027, 2029 and 2031.

The International Cricket Council has confirmed the fixtures of the Women Cricket teams. The ICC has an aim that the Women Cricket should grow. This is their long-term commitment, and that is why the mainboard, ICC, has expanded the 50 over World Cup tournament and the T20 over world cup tournament for the Women Cricket players.            

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Rajasthan Royals To Stake 250 million US Dollars Stake In A United States Company

Redbird Capital Partners has acquired a 15 per cent stake in the Indian Premier League franchise Rajasthan Royals.Redbird Capital Partners has also...

Jaddu – The Number one Bowling All Rounder In The ICC Test Rankings

India’s star all-rounder player Ravindra Jadeja has ranked first in the rankings of the International Cricket Council as the best spin bowling...

Top Three Reasons Why India Lost The WTC Final Against New Zealand.

New Zealand made history by beating India by eight wickets in the ICC World Test Championship final in Southampton yesterday.In this last...

Eoin Morgan explain the controversy of calling “Sir”

Eoin Morgan broke his silence on the racial comments of the Indians, and he said there was nothing wrong in saying, sir.A...

Ross Taylor Was Abused By The Spectators On The Fifth Day Of The WTC Final

On the fifth day of the World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand, two spectators insulted the New Zealand players...