Four Teams Who Have Played The Most ICC Tournament Finals

The International Cricket Council is the main board that organizes World Tournament like the ODI world cup, World T20, Champions Trophy, and recently, the ICC has also included the World Test Championship tournament into their cabinet. Every team aims to win The ICC tournament, which is a glorified event.

But making it to the finals is also a big achievement. Overall there have been 12 editions of the ODI WC, sux editions of the World T20, and eight editions of the Champions Trophy.

Australia is the team that has won the most world cup tournaments. They have won five of them, and West Indies are the only team to win two World T20 events so far. India and Australia are the joint winners of the Champions Trophy. They have won two each.

But MS Dhoni is the only captain in the world to have won all of the trophies of the International cricket council. Today on the eve of the WTC Final, we shall name the top four teams who have played the most finals of an ICC tournament –

India – Team India has reached the ten Finals of the ICC Tournaments, and they won the first world cup in 1983 under the leadership of Kapil Dev, and the other three ICC tournament wins came under the captaincy stint of MS Dhoni. India was in the finals of 1983, 2003, and 2011 ODI world cup was the second ICC trophy for Dhoni.

In T20Is, India reached the finals in 2007, which was Mahi’s first ICC trophy, and seven years later, in 2014, India lost that final against Sri Lanka. India also reached the finals of the Champion Trophy four times. In 2000, India lost to New Zealand.

In 2002 India and Sri Lanka were the joint winners, 2013 MSD won his third, and India also won their last ICC tournament, and in 2017, India lost against Pakistan in the final of the CT event.

Australia – The Aussie team to have been in the ten finals of the ICC tournaments. They have won the most ODI world cup events, and they have been in the final of the 50 over WC seven times and won five of them. They lost the finals of 1975 and 1996.


But they won the final of 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015. Australia also played the CT finals twice in the 2006 and 2008 editions and won both of them. In the tournament of the shortest format, Australia reached just one final in 2010, and England won that title.

England – The inventors of Cricket has played eight finals of the ICC tournament till now. England won just one ODI world cup in 2019. But before that, they had participated in four final of the ODI tournament. Previously they lost in 1970, 1987 and 1992.


In T20Is, they were in the two finals. In 2010 they won against Australia, and in 2016, Carlos Brathwaite sealed the T20 Cup for the West Indies. In the Champions Trophy, England lost two of the finals in 2004 against WWest Indies and 2013 against India.

West Indies – The Windies also reached the finals of the ICC tournament eight times. They reached the finals of 1975, 1979, and 1983 ODI world cups. West Indies are the only side to win the two World T20 finals.

West Indies
West Indies

They did in 2012 and 2016. In the Champions Trophy event, they were the runners-up of 1998, 2004, and 2006. They won the CT in 2004 and also the ODI WC in 1975 and 1979.        

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Now Or Never For Pakistan Captain Bazar Azam

Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif is of the opinion that the clock is ticking on Bazar Azam’s tenure as current captain of...

India To Face Pakistan and New Zealand In Their Group Stages Of Icc T20 Cricket World Cup

From October 17 to November 14, 2021, India and Pakistan will host the T20 Men's World Cup in the United Arab  Emirates...

Four players With the Most Man Of The Match Awards In ICC Events

Getting a man of the match award in the ICC event is the matter of pride for any player of this world....

5 Sri Lankan Players Who Refused To Play The Limited Over Series Against India

The limited-overs series between India Vs Sri Lanka starts from July 13th 2021. The two Asian giants will play three matches in...

Kohli’s Virat Earning From Instagram Posts.

The Indian captain Virat Kohli one of the best batsmen in modern cricket.He is very active on social media. Kohli fans are...