BCCI grants Tamil Nadu Cricket Association permission to hold TNPL after IPL 2021

After a long wait, the Board of Control for Cricket in India has finally given a green signal to Tamil Nadu Cricket Association. The TNCA wanted to organize Tamil Nadu Premier League this year after the Indian Premier League ends. TNCA organized TNPL in 2019 too.

They were supposed to organize it last year too but due to Covid-19, it couldn’t happen. But this year they have got permission from BCCI and they will soon make the arrangements after the Indian Premier League gets over.


It looks like Tamil Nadu Cricket Association had already made all the plans about the Premier League, all they were waiting for was just the permission of the board. As the board gave the green signal to them, they announced the date on which the league will start.


As per the TNCA, the Tamil Nadu Premier League will be played from 4th June to 4th July this year. It will be a month-long league with 8 teams participating. There have been 4 seasons of the tournament already played in the past, it will be the fifth one.

Though the association has got permission from the board, it won’t be that easy to organize the tournament looking at the current situation of India. We are reporting more than 3 lacs positive Covid cases per day. The association will have to strictly follow all the safety procedures and keep all the players in the bio-secure bubble.

As per the official statement of TNCA, they were waiting for the approval from Tamil Nadu government. The tournament will be played from 4th June after getting the approval.

The finals of the league will be played at Salem. TNCA added that they will strictly follow the Covid-19 guidelines and make sure that all the players spend enough time in isolation and be in a bio-secure bubble throughout the tournament.

There will be a total of eight teams playing in the league including Ruby Trichy Warriors, Lyca Kovai Kings, VB Kanchi Veerans, Chepauk Super Gillies, Karaikudi Kaalai, Madurai Panthers, and Dindigul Dragons.

There are some of the wells knows names of Indian cricket including Dinesh Kartik, R Ashwin, Murali Vijay, etc, who will be participating in the league. Who do you think will win the league this season?

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Now Or Never For Pakistan Captain Bazar Azam

Former Pakistan captain Rashid Latif is of the opinion that the clock is ticking on Bazar Azam’s tenure as current captain of...

India To Face Pakistan and New Zealand In Their Group Stages Of Icc T20 Cricket World Cup

From October 17 to November 14, 2021, India and Pakistan will host the T20 Men's World Cup in the United Arab  Emirates...

Four players With the Most Man Of The Match Awards In ICC Events

Getting a man of the match award in the ICC event is the matter of pride for any player of this world....

5 Sri Lankan Players Who Refused To Play The Limited Over Series Against India

The limited-overs series between India Vs Sri Lanka starts from July 13th 2021. The two Asian giants will play three matches in...

Kohli’s Virat Earning From Instagram Posts.

The Indian captain Virat Kohli one of the best batsmen in modern cricket.He is very active on social media. Kohli fans are...