BCCI Central Contract: Pujara, Rahane And Pandya Suffer Big Blow

Two more veterans, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane, who were dropped from the Indian Test cricket team, have been dealt another blow. On Wednesday, the two veteran batsmen were demoted in a central contract announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

Apart from this, all-rounder Hardik Pandya has also been demoted. The Board’s Apex Council has drafted the Central Contract. In which Pujara, Hardik, and Rahane have been demoted.

Related Post: Who Is The King Of IPL?

There are four categories in the Central Contract by the Board of India. There is an A + category in which the players get Rs 7 crore annually. While the players involved in A, B, and C grades get five, three, and one crore rupees, respectively. Former Test specialist Pujara and former Test team vice-captain Rahane were involved in A grade.

However, they have been removed from A grade and included in B grade. It is to be noted that both of them have not been in good form for a long time, and due to this, they have not been included in the squad for the two-Test series against Sri Lanka at home.


However, the biggest demotion has been to all-rounder Hardik Pandya. Hardik Pandya involved in A grade has been placed directly in C grade. At the same time, wicket keeper Riddhiman Saha has been demoted from B grade to C grade. Saha has also not been included in the Test squad.

This is a big blow for Hardik Pandya. He is unable to bowl due to injury, which has put his place in the team at risk. Hardik Pandya is not in the Indian squad for any format. Now Hardik Pandya will be seen in IPL-2022, in which he has been made the captain of the new team Gujarat Titans.

Players Involved in Central Contract:

Grade A+ (Rs. 7 crore per annum): Virat Kohli, Jaspreet Bumrah, Rohit Sharma

Grade A (Rs. 5 crores per annum): Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Lokesh Rahul, Mohammad Shami, Rishabh Pant

Grade B (Rs. 3 crores per annum): Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammad Siraj, Ishant Sharma

Grade C (Rs. 1 crore per annum): Shikhar Dhawan, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shubhaman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riddhiman Saha, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Agarwal.

2 thoughts on “BCCI Central Contract: Pujara, Rahane And Pandya Suffer Big Blow”

Leave a Comment