Video: Akeal Hossain takes the one-handed catch in CPL 2021

Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders produced a low-scoring thriller in the 11th match of Caribbean Premier League season 7 played at Warner Park, St Kitts on Wednesday.

Thanks to a disciplined effort by Guyana Warriors bowlers they restricted defending Champions to 138 for 9 in 20 overs.

Colin Munro was the top scorer with 32 while Udana played a blinder of an innings with a quickfire 21 off 9 balls to help Knight Riders post a decent total.

Ravi Rampaul produced a brilliant spell initially to take 2 early wickets of Hemraj and Odean Smith to rattle Amazon Warriors.

Knight Riders bowlers kept a lid on Warriors batsmen not allowing them to score runs and also kept taking regular wickets. Sunil Narine grabbed wickets of Malik and Hetymer in the same over reducing Warriors to 68 for 5.

Warriors captain Pooran and King steadied the ship for Guyana hitting boundaries to put pressure back on Knight Riders bowlers. Rampaul got rid of King to end a 37 runs partnership for the 6th wicket.

Akeal Hossain produced a one-handed catch at the boundary without touching ropes resulting Pooran’s wicket. It was a sensational effort by Hossain who kept Knight Riders in the game with his superb spell of 1 for 16 in 4 overs.

The match went right down the wire as Akeal Hossain bowled with the final over. Hossain dismissed dangerous Shepherd to make the match more interesting. With 2 runs required off 1 ball, Hossain gave 1 run as Imran Tahir was run out taking the 2nd run.

Hossain showed his quality in the field with a special effort to dismiss Pooran who was looking dangerous to take the game away.

The match went to the Super Over as Guyana Amazon Warriors could muster 6 runs and lost both wickets.

Romario Shepherd held his nerves to give away just 4 runs and grabbed the wicket of Kieron Pollard. It was a great bowling effort by Shephard who did not allow Munro and Seifert to score runs easily.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles

Know the IPL teams that have not been crowned since 2008

Indians have always been crazy about cricket. The rage became more evident when the Indian Premier League (IPL) started. If you love...

Did the Proteas Turn a Corner at the T20 World Cup?

An opening day loss to Australia prompted many back home in the Rainbow Nation to fear the worst for the Proteas at...

List Of 10 Most Expensive Over In Ipl

In the T20 format of cricket, we have observed that the Indian Premier League is the platform where the best of best...

Fastest Centuries In T20 International

In cricket, the T20 format is considered to be the most exciting as there are very few overs and players have...


Do you find it difficult to find whether the name you have selected is already taken or not?  Well,...